East Rockhill Township Board of Supervisors January 6, 2025

Re-Organization Business Meeting Minutes

The re-organization business meeting of the East Rockhill Township Board of Supervisors was held at 5:00 PM on January 6, 2025 in the meeting room at the East Rockhill Township Municipal Building, 1622 North Ridge Road, Perkasie, PA 18944.

Present: David Nyman Supervisor

Gary Volovnik Supervisor Jim Nietupski Supervisor

Marianne Hart Morano Township Manager

Jeff Scholl Public Works Director

The meeting was called to order at 5:01 PM by temporary Chairperson Mr. Nyman.

No members of the public or press were present.

Reorganization of the Board of Supervisors for 2025

On motion by Mr. Nietupski,, seconded by Mr. Volovnik, to appoint Marianne Morano as Temporary Chairperson. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Volovnik, to appoint Gary Volovnik as Chairperson. The nomination passed 2-1 with Mr. Nietupski voting in opposition.

Mrs. Morano turned the meeting over to Mr. Volovnik.

On motion by Mr. Volovnik, seconded by Mr. Nyman, to appoint David Nyman as Vice Chairperson. The nomination passed 2-1 with Mr. Nietupski voting in opposition.

Board of Supervisor Liaison Appointment and Alternate

On motion by Mr. Volovnik, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to appoint Gary Volovnik and alternate David Nyman to the Pennridge Regional Police Commission; to appoint David Nyman and alternate Jim Nietupski to the Pennridge Wastewater Treatment Authority Board; to appoint David Nyman and alternate Gary Volovnik to the Pennridge Area Coordinating Committee and to appoint Jim Nietupski as the Pennsylvania State Association Township Supervisors Convention Voting Delegate. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Administrative Appointments

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to appoint Marianne Hart Morano to Township Manager, Secretary, Treasurer, Zoning Officer, Open Records Officer, Chief Administration Officer for Pension Plans; Samantha Salemno to Assistant Open Records Officer; and Jeff Scholl to Public Works Director, Emergency Management Coordinator. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Consultant Appointments

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to appoint Will Oetinger, Esq., Grim, Biehn & Thatcher as Township Solicitor; Thomas Duncan, Esq., as Township Environmental Attorney; Christen Pionzio, Esq., Joint UCC Appeals Board Solicitor; Steve Baluh P.E., Wynn Associates as

Page | 2

Township Engineer; Steve Baluh, P.E. as Floodplain Administrator; Marianne Hart Morano as Alternate Floodplain Administrator; Building Inspection Underwriters (BIU) as Third-Party Building Inspector; Traffic Planning and Design as Traffic Engineer; Kevin Franks as East Rockhill Treatment Plant #1 Operator; SC Engineer's, Inc. as Chapter 94 Report and NPDES Permit Engineer; CKS Engineers as Sewer Engineer; Dunlap SLK as Certified Public Accountant to audit the 2024 financials; Earth Data Northeast, Inc. (EDN) as Hydrologist; Heritage Conservancy as Open Space consultant; Hough Associates for PA DEP 904 Recycling Grant; Judith Goldstein, Gilmore & Associates as Planner; following discussion of consultant appointments Mr. Nyman amended his motion to allow Traffic Planning & Design to continue traffic planning review but seek proposals from other traffic engineers and to appoint Steve Baluh as Assistant Zoning Officer. Mr. Nietupski seconded the motion, as amended. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Board and Commission

Zoning Hearing Board

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to approve **Resolution 2025-01** to accept the reappointment of John Fenley 3-year term to the Zoning Hearing Board and reaffirm members as presented. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Planning Commission

On motion by Mr. Nietupski, seconded by Mr. Nyman, to accept the reappointment of Aaron Teel and Colin Monohan 4-year term to the Planning Commission. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Park & Recreation Board

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to accept the reappointment of Diane Blodget and David Stevens 5-year term to the Park and Recreation Board. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Joint UCC Appeals Board

On motion by Mr. Nietupski, seconded by Mr. Nyman, to accept the reappointment of James Kopchak, Robert Smith, Kevin Toothman 1-year term to the Joint UCC Appeal Board. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Vacancy Board

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to accept the reappointment of Anne Fenley 1-year term to the Vacancy Board. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Business and Schedules

Depositories

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to adopt **Resolution 2025-02** establishing approved depositories as presented. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Payment of Bills

On motion by Mr. Nietupski, seconded by Mr. Nyman, to adopt **Resolution 2025-03** authorizing interim payment of specified bills. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Tax Collection Committee (TCC) Delegate

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to adopt **Resolution 2025-04** naming Marianne Hart Morano as Voting Delegate, Kathleen Percetti as first alternate Voting Delegate and Bonnie Schorr as Second Alternate Voting Delegates for the TCC. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Elected Tax Collector Wage for the 2026-2029 Term

On motion by Mr. Volovnik, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to adopt **Resolution 2025-05** setting the elected tax collector wage at \$9.00 per bill for the 2026 to 2029 term as presented. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Surety Bond

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to authorize a bond in the amount of \$500,000.00 for the Township Manager and Accountant positions. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Mileage Rate

On motion by Mr. Nietupski, seconded by Mr. Nyman, to authorize mileage rate at IRS designated rate in the amount of 70 cents per mile. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Meeting Dates

On motion by Mr. Nietupski, seconded by Mr. Nyman, to establish meeting dates for the Board of Supervisors to be on the first Monday for Reorganization at 5:00 PM in January and the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:00 PM for a regular business meeting except for December will be the third Tuesday; the Elected Auditors will meet 4:00 PM the first Tuesday of January; the Planning Commission will meet 7:00 PM the first Thursday of each month for a work session and the second Thursday of each month for a regular business meeting, as needed; the Park & Recreation Board will meet 7:00 PM the second Tuesday in February, May, August except for the November the meeting shall be held the first Monday, as needed; the Zoning Hearing Board and the Joint UCC Board of Appeals will meet at 7:00 PM, with hearings advertised in compliance with state law. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

REGULAR BUSINESS MEETING

Public Comment

There was none.

General Business

Opposition to House Bill 1976 and House Bill 2045

East Rockhill Township Board of Supervisors January 6, 2025 Minutes Page | 4

On motion by Mr. Nietupski, seconded by Mr. Nyman, to adopt **Resolution 2025-06** opposing house bill 1976 and house bill 2045 and supporting local control of zoning as presented. With no additional discussion, all present voted in favor.

Adjournment

On motion by Mr. Nyman, seconded by Mr. Nietupski, to adjourn the meeting. With no additional discussion, the meeting was adjourned at 5:18 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Marianne Hart Morano Township Manager